“And this is the last time.” And it was.

Christopher ‘Crystal’ Taylor has been Roger’s drum technician since 1976. He was also a personal manager together with Paul Prenter during the UK Hot Space tour, a band party member (hard to guess what it means!) with Peter Freestone for the Works tour and a band co-ordinator during the Magic tour.

5420019967

A memory by Crystal Taylor

 

I can remember watching an awards show on tv and Roger said they were going to do a concert at Wembley Stadium to honour Freddie. I didn’t think anymore of it until a few months later when it was advertised. Full credit to the drummer for getting it together and for getting a good line up of stars to appear. As soon as I saw it I phoned Rog and said I would love to be involved somehow. I even said I would sweep the stage if I had to, I just wanted to be there as a send off to a remarkable person. Roger said he would love for me to look after him as, “You are the best.” I thought that was a lovely thing to say and he also told me to phone Gerry Stickells in the office, which I did and I went to Pembridge Road to meet Gerry.
He told me he had the perfect job for me. ‘Artist Liaison.’ What the hell is that? I think this was about the time everybody on the road started getting new titles. Roadies became techs. Goofers became assistant tour managers. Even drummers became musicians 😉
Anyway what I had to do was make sure all the artists were at the right place at the right time and went on stage when I told them. Live to 72,000 people and live on tv. Oh dear this could go terribly wrong if someone wasn’t where they should be when I told them. Thankfully it all went smoothly on the day.
I did a couple of weeks rehearsals and it was great to catch up with most of our old crew and I knew a lot of the bands already so it was a fun few weeks.
My biggest fear out everyone performing was Liza Minnelli. She is a very famous singer and actor with a famous mum. She hung around with Sinatra and the Rat Pack. She is close friends with every other famous person in the world. I had a vision of her demanding a pure white dressing room with white orchids and Cristal champagne chilled to perfection. She would turn up with an entourage of thousands. Hairdressers, make up, wardrobe, minders, managers, accountants, assistants, etc. Then her rehearsal day turned up in she marched with her entourage of….. One.
One assistant, that’s it. I went and introduced myself and she said “Hello darling.”
I melted. What a sweetheart.
Everyone was a joy to be around. When Lisa Stansfield showed up I said hi and asked if I could get her anything and she said “Nah its alright luv. I’m just gonna nip out and have a fag then I’ll grab a coffee.” Nice lady.
Everyone was a joy except that prat that goes by the name of Axl Rose. Why? He was due to turn up to rehearse his Bo Rap bit & Rock You and guess what. He didn’t show up. No phone call. Nothing. We arranged to do it the next day and lo and behold he didn’t show again. One day left and he would definitely show up. Wrong again. Three days we sat around waiting and he never turned up. What a dick.
Show day. The Gunners, the Leppards and Extreme were all great but oddly I don’t remember a thing about Metallica. Not meeting them, rehearsals or the show. No memory of them at all.
Everything went nice and smoothly and everyone performed the best they could. Some where better than others but I won’t put anyone down for a bad perfomance. They all tried. George Michael, who was fab said after that Somebody to Love was the hardest song he’d ever sung, but he did a bloody amazing job of it.
Come the end and Champions was being played I finally relaxed. My day was done and I did it well and nothing went wrong then I looked at the screen and it was awful. There was Freddie in his cape and crown and I got really depressed seeing it. Terry Giddings came and stood with me and I looked at him and, just like me, he had pink watery eyes. He said, “Don’t say a fucking word.” If I had we would have both broken down in tears and that wouldn’t have been a good look. We had finally said goodbye to a dear friend and it was upsetting for us both.
As the band were walking off I grabbed a towel and threw it over Rogers shoulders and we walked off together and stopped on the ramp to look at the crowd, then he gave me a hug and said, “This is like the old days.” I replied, “And this is the last time.” And it was.
We chatted in the dressing room for a while then I went back out and grabbed my first beer of the day and I was in a weird daze. I felt really down. A Japanese lady came and said hi and it took a while to realise it was Misa Wattanbe, Fred’s good friend. There was a party later and when I left home in the morning I had every intention of going and getting really out of it, in true Queen tradition but I didn’t want to go so I gave my party passes to Hotei, my Japanese rock star mate, then me and my girlfriend went home.
When we got in I made a cup of tea and put the tv on and the first thing I heard was “Yesterday at Wembley Stadium” and as they were saying that the film they were showing was me walking through the car park with Robert Plant. Finally I smiled then went to bed.
An odd day of emotions.

511294308

Traduzione in Italiano:

Pare che siano passati 24 anni dal Tribute. Come vola il tempo quando ti diverti.
Ricordo che stavo guardando uno spettacolo di premiazioni alla tv e Roger disse che stavano per fare un concerto allo stadio di Wembley per onorare Freddie. Non ci pensai più fino a qualche mese dopo quando fu pubblicizzato. Pieno merito al batterista per averlo messo insieme e per aver ottenuto una buona carrellata di star da far partecipare. Non appena lo vidi chiamai Rog e chiesi che  mi sarebbe piaciuto essere coinvolto in qualche modo. Addirittura dissi che avrei spazzato il palco se ce ne fosse stato bisogno, volevo solo esserci come saluto per una persona straordinaria. Roger disse che gli sarebbe piaciuto che mi occupassi di lui perché,”Sei il migliore”. Pensai che fosse una cosa bella da dire e mi disse anche di chiamare Gerry Stickells in ufficio, cosa che feci per poi recarmi a Pembridge Road per incontrare Gerry.
Mi disse di avere un lavoro perfetto per me. “Contatto per gli artisti”. Che diavolo era? Penso che si trattasse del tempo in cui chiunque fosse “on the road” iniziasse ad ottenere sempre nuovi titoli. I roadie diventavano tecnici. I casinisti diventavano vice responsabili del tour. Addirittura I batteristi diventavano musicisti 😉 .
Comunque, ciò che dovevo fare era assicurarmi che tutti gli artisti fossero al posto giusto nel momento giusto e arrivassero sul palco quando glielo dicevo. Davanti a 72.000 persone e poi in diretta televisiva. Poteva mettersi veramente male se qualcuno non fosse stato dove doveva quando glielo dicevo. Fortunatamente, andò tutto liscio quel giorno. Feci un paio di settimane di prove e fu bello incontrarsi con la maggior parte della nostra crew e conobbi anche molti dei gruppi, quindi furono settimane divertenti.
Tra tutti quelli che dovevano esibirsi, quella che mi creava più ansia era Liza Minnelli. È una cantante e attrice molto famosa, con una madre famosa. Se ne andava a giro con Sinatra e i Rat Pack. È amica intima di ogni altra persona famosa nel mondo. Avevo la visione di lei che esigeva un camerino bianco puro con orchidee bianche e champagne Crystal raffreddato alla perfezione. Sarebbe comparsa con un entourage di mille persone. Parrucchieri, trucco, guardaroba, guardie del corpo, agenti, contabili, assistenti, etc. Ma quando arrivò il suo giorno per le prove si presentò col suo entourage di… una sola persona.
Un assistente, ecco tutto. Mi presentai e lei disse “Ciao caro”.
Mi sciolsi. Che carina.
Era una gioia avere vicino ognuno di loro. Quando comparve Lisa Stansfield, la salutai e le chiesi se potevo portarle qualcosa e lei rispose: “Nah, è tutto a posto amore. Faccio un salto a fumarmi una cicca e poi mi prenderò un caffè”.
Chiunque era una gioia, eccetto quell’idiota che risponde al nome di Axl Rose. Perché? Doveva presentarsi per provare il suo pezzetto di Bo Rap e Rock You e indovina un po’. Non si fece vedere. Nessuna telefonata. Niente. Organizzammo di farlo il giorno seguente e, guarda un po’, neanche quella volta si presentò. Rimaneva un giorno, sicuramente sarebbe comparso. Sbagliato ancora. Per tre giorni rimanemmo a trastullarci aspettandolo e non arrivò mai. Che cazzone.
Giorno del concerto. I Gunners, I Leppards e gli Extreme furono tutti grandi, ma stranamente non ricordo nulla dei Metallica. Non di averli incontrati, non le prove né lo show. Nessun ricordo di loro.
Tutto fu bello e andò liscio e tutti si esibirono al loro meglio. Alcuni meglio di altri, ma non accuserei nessuno di aver fatto una brutta performance. Ci provarono tutti. George Michael, che fu fantastico, disse dopo che Somebody To Love era la canzone più difficile che avesse mai cantato,ma fece davvero un lavoro eccezionale.
Giunti al termine, quando stavano suonando Champions, finalmente mi rilassai. Il mio lavoro era finito, lo avevo fatto bene e niente era andato storto. Poi guardai lo schermo e fu orribile. C’era Freddie in mantella e corona e mi depressi moltissimo a vederlo. Terry Giddings era con me, lo guardai e, proprio come me, aveva le lacrime agli occhi. Disse, “Non dire una cazzo di parola.” Se lo avessi fatto, entrambi saremmo scoppiati a piangere e non sarebbe stato bello da vedere. Avevamo finalmente detto addio a un caro amico ed era triste per entrambi.
Quando il gruppo stava uscendo acchiappai un asciugamano e lo buttai sulle spalle di Roger e ci allontanammo insieme e ci fermammo sulla rampa a guardare la folla. Allora mi abbracciò e disse, “è come ai vecchi tempi”. Risposi “e questa è l’ultima volta”. E lo fu.
Chiacchierammo un po’ in camerino, poi uscii e presi la mia prima birra del giorno ed ero stranamente confuso. Mi sentivo davvero giù. Una signora giapponese venne a salutarmi e mi ci volle un momento per realizzare che era Misa Watanabe, grande amica di Fred. C’era una festa dopo e quando ero uscito la mattina avevo tutta l’intenzione di andarci e di spassarmela davvero, in pura tradizione Queen, ma in quel momento non me la sentivo di andare così diedi miei pass per la festa a Hotei,il mio amico rock star giapponese, e me ne andai a casa con la mia fidanzata.Quando entrammo feci una tazza di thè e accesi la tv e la prima cosa che sentii fu : “Ieri allo stadio di Wembley ” e mentre lo dicevano facevano vedere una ripresa di me che passavo nel parcheggio con Robert Plant. Finalmente sorrisi ed andai a letto.

Un singolare giorni di emozioni.

1981-gong.jpg

QueenRaces 20 Aprile 2017

(Grazie a Fiammetta Pezzati per il racconto e la traduzione)

Lascia un commento